The electricity distribution system

Our distribution systems are linked to Landsnet transmission system at three locations in the capital area, the transmission system at Korpa, Geitháls and Hnoðraholt. From there, the electricity is imported by the high voltage cables to ten substations around the area. From substations, the branch system divides into thousand base stations (transformer stations) and from them the electricity is provided to street boxes, which most people are familiar with in their street. From these street cabinets lie the so-called home-cables to the user.